Senate Finance Committee clears Group Benefits revamp
May 12, 2015
IT’S NOT TOO LATE TO CALL ABOUT HB 42 (COLA BILL)!
May 26, 2015
 

Attached for your review is the 2015 Legislative Update.   Three legislative instruments have been added for your review. The resolutions are Senate Concurrent Resolution No. 2, House Concurrent Resolution No. 57, and House Concurrent Resolution No. 71.  All of these resolutions would eliminate, for one year, the exemption from paying state income tax on retirement benefits received by retirees, beneficiaries and survivors from any of Louisiana’s public pension plans.  None of these resolutions have been scheduled for hearings by the Senate Revenue and Fiscal Affairs Committee or the House Ways and Means Committee.

The House Retirement Committee will meet on Thursday, May 14 at adjournment of the House of Representatives.  House Bill No. 42, the bill to provide a Permanent Benefit Increase of 1.5% to eligible benefit recipients of the Louisiana State Employees’ Retirement System, the Louisiana School Employees’ Retirement System, the Louisiana State Police Retirement System and the Teachers’ Retirement System of Louisiana is on the agenda for a second hearing.  The meeting is open to the public, and all are welcome to attend.

 

 

Click on the following link to read the article in today’s issue of The Advocate about House Bill No. 42.

http://theadvocate.com/news/12310044-123/state-employee-teachers-retiree-colas

 

 

 

We provided you with the listing of the House Retirement Committee members, and we are providing it again today.  Please take a minute to contact these committee members to let them know you would like them to consider supporting the bill.

 

House Retirement Committee Member Roster

Representative J. Kevin Pearson (Chairman)

1349 Corporate Square

Suite 6

Slidell, LA 70458

(985) 646-6487
pearsonk@legis.la.gov
Representative Nick Lorusso (Vice-Chairman)
3535 Canal Street
Suite 103

New Orleans, LA 70119

(504) 483-4711
larep094@legis.la.gov
Representative Frank A. Hoffmann
204 North 3rd Street

Suite A

West Monroe, LA 71291

(318) 362-4130
hoffmannf@legis.la.gov
Representative Paul Hollis
2000 Preserve Lake Drive

Suite B

Covington, LA 70433

(985) 871-4680
hollisp@legis.la.gov
Representative Barry Ivey
13440 Magnolia Square Drive

Suite E

Baton Rouge, LA 70818

(225) 261-5739
iveyb@legis.la.gov
Representative Sam Jones
733 Main Street

Franklin, LA 70538

(337) 828-7778
joness@legis.la.gov
Representative Gregory Miller

P.O. Box 190

Norco, LA 70079

 

(985) 764-9991

millerg@legis.la.gov

Representative Jack Montoucet
112 East Hutchinson Avenue

Crowley, LA 70526

(337) 783-2999
montoucj@legis.la.gov
Representative Darrell P. Ourso

17451 Jefferson Hwy.
Suite C
Baton Rouge, LA 70817

(225) 756-3420
oursod@legis.la.gov

Representative Edward Price

2109 S. Burnside Avenue

Suite C

Gonzales, LA 70737

(225) 644-6738
pricee@legis.la.gov
Representative Eugene Reynolds
736 Main Street

Minden, LA 71055

(318) 371-3092
reynoldsg@legis.la.gov
Representative Kirk Talbot
9523 Jefferson Highway

Suite B

River Ridge, LA 70123

(504) 736-7299
talbotk@legis.la.gov

 

 

 

Comments are closed.